Monday, February 17

Yamaha, Raymarine, Awlgrip and Ten Others Win IBEX Innovation Awards

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +

Yamaha, Raymarine and Awlgrip were among the winners of the 2018 Innovation Awards at the International BoatBuilders’ Exhibition and Conference in Tampa. The awards, made in 13 categories, were managed by the National Marine Manufacturers Association and judged by eight members of Boating Writers International.

“This year’s entries were very focused on improving the boating experience,” said Alan Wendt, chairman of the judging panel. “From solving simple issues with canvas to more complex engineering challenges with hardware and composites, there is ample evidence of innovation underway in a thriving industry.”

Yamaha won the outboard category for its new V-8, XTO Offshore, a 425-hp motor with cutting-edge technology providing power, torque and speed (pictured above). You can see a video of it in action below.

Raymarine won in the OEM Electronics with its Axiom ClearCruise Augmented Reality.

Awlgrip North America’s Quick Build won in the Boat Care and Maintenance category.

Other winners:

Boatbuilding Methods & Materials: Structural Composites Inc., Advanced Marine Coatings.

Covering: Taylor Made, Pole-less Self-Draining Pontoon Cover.

Deck Equipment and Hardware: Dripper Guard, Dripper Guard PRO.

Electrical Systems: Balmar, SG200 Battery Monitor.

Entertainment: FUSION Entertainment USA Inc., Apollo 770.

Furnishings and Interior Parts: SHOXS, X Series Shock Mitigated Pedestals.

Lighting: Megaleds, ORPHOS.

Mechanical Systems: Blue Guard Innovations, BG-One.

Propulsion Parts, Propellers: Mercury Marine, Tiller Handle Assembly for Portable Outboard Motor.

Safety Equipment: Medallion Instrumentation Systems, Docking/Trailer Camera.

For more:





About Author